

Minutes of an extraordinary meeting of the Waikato District Council held in the Council Chambers, District Office, 15 Galileo Street, Ngaruawahia on **WEDNESDAY**, 5 MAY 2021 commencing at **1.01pm**.

Present:

His Worship the Mayor, Mr AM Sanson (Chairperson)

Cr AD Bech

Cr JA Church

Cr CA Eyre

Cr JM Gibb

Cr SL Henderson

Cr SD Lynch

Cr RC McGuire

Cr FM McInally

Cr EM Patterson

Cr JD Sedgwick

Cr NMD Smith

Cr LR Thomson

Cr CT Woolerton

Attending:

Mr GJ Ion (Chief Executive)

Mr C Morgan (General Manager Community Growth)

Mr J Quinn (Communications, Engagement and Marketing Manager)

Mr S Toka (Iwi & Community Relationship Manager)

Mrs GJ Kanawa (Democracy Team Leader)

Waikato District Council I Minutes: 5 May 2021

APOLOGIES AND LEAVE OF ABSENCE

There were no apologies or requests for leave of absence.

CONFIRMATION OF STATUS OF AGENDA ITEMS

Resolved: (Crs Thomson/Sedgwick)

THAT the agenda for an extraordinary meeting of the Waikato District Council held on Wednesday, 5 May 2021 be confirmed and all items therein be considered and received.

CARRIED WDC2105/01

DISCLOSURES OF INTEREST

There were no disclosures of interest.

REPORTS

Revocation of Resolution – Maaori Wards Agenda Item 4.1

The report was received [CCL2105/01 refers].

Resolved: (Crs Smith/Gibb)

THAT the Waikato District Council resolves, to revoke Part B of Motion WDC2011/09 passed at it's meeting held on 2 November 2020, which read:

"AND THAT the Council does not establish Maaori wards for the 2022 local authority elections, and resolves to undertake a poll of electors in conjunction with the 2022 local authority elections on whether to establish Maaori wards for the 2025 and 2028 elections (Option 3b in the staff report);"

AND THAT staff provide a report to the extraordinary meeting scheduled for Thursday, 20 May 2021, presenting options on whether or not to establish Maaori Wards for the Waikato District at the 2022 Local Body Elections.

A division was called for, voting on which was as follows:

For the Motion: Mayor Sanson, Crs Bech, Church, Eyre, Gibb, Henderson, Lynch,

McInally, Patterson, Sedgwick, Smith, Thomson, Woolerton.

Against the Motion: Cr McGuire

The Motion was declared <u>CARRIED</u> by 13 votes to 1.

CARRIED WDC2105/02

There being no further business the meeting was declared closed at 1.09pm.		
Minutes approved and confirmed this	day	2021.

AM Sanson CHAIRPERSON