

Minutes of an extraordinary meeting of the Waikato District Council held in the Council Chambers, District Office, 15 Galileo Street, Ngaruawahia on **THURSDAY, 20 MAY 2021** commencing at **1.00pm**.

Present:

His Worship the Mayor, Mr AM Sanson (Chairperson)

Cr AD Bech

Cr JA Church (via Audio-Visual link)

Cr CA Eyre (via Audio-Visual link)

Cr IM Gibb

Cr SL Henderson

Cr SD Lynch

Cr RC McGuire

Cr FM McInally

Cr EM Patterson

Cr JD Sedgwick

Cr NMD Smith

Cr LR Thomson

Cr CT Woolerton

Attending:

Mr GJ Ion (Chief Executive)

Mr R MacCulloch (General Manager Service Delivery

Mrs S O'Gorman (General Manager Customer Support)

Mr K Abbott (Projects & Innovation Manager)

Mr J Quinn (Communications, Engagement and Marketing Manager)

Mr S Toka (Iwi & Community Relationship Manager)

Mr D Ofsofske (Electoral Officer)

Ms R Schaafhausen (Representing Kingitanga)

Ms L Te Aho (Waikato Tainui)

Mrs M Moana-Tuwhangai (Maangai Maaori)

Mr B Stringer (Consultant)

Mr A Marais (Business Intelligence Team Leader)

Mrs GJ Kanawa (Democracy Team Leader)

Mrs L Wainwright (Committee Secretary)

Waikato District Council I Minutes: 20 May 2021

APOLOGIES AND LEAVE OF ABSENCE

There were no apologies or requests for leave of absence.

CONFIRMATION OF STATUS OF AGENDA ITEMS

Resolved: (Crs Sedgwick/Thomson)

THAT the agenda for the extraordinary meeting of the Waikato District Council held on Thursday, 20 May 2021 be confirmed and all items therein be considered and received.

CARRIED WDC2105/22

DISCLOSURES OF INTEREST

There were no disclosures of interest.

REPORTS

Maaori Wards

Agenda Item 4.1

The report was received [CCL2105/ refers].

Resolved: (Cr Bech/Smith)

THAT the Waikato District Council resolves:

- i) to establish Maaori wards for the 2022 and 2025 local authority elections in accordance with clause 2(1), Schedule I of the Local Electoral Act 2001(Option I in the staff report); and
- ii) requests that the Chief Executive, in consultation with His Worship the Mayor, notify iwi and marae within the District, of the Council's decision including the reasons for that decision.

A division was called for, voting on which was as follows:

For the Motion: His Worship, Mayor Allan Sanson; Cr Bech; Cr Church; Cr Eyre; Cr Gibb;

Cr Patterson; Cr Sedgwick; Cr Smith; Cr Thomson and Cr Woolerton.

Against the Motion: Cr Henderson; Cr Lynch and Cr McGuire

Abstained: Cr McInally

The Motion was declared **CARRIED** by 10 votes to 3, with I abstention.

CARRIED WDC2105/23

There being no further business the meeting was declared closed at 2.08pm.

Minutes approved and confirmed this day 2021.

AM Sanson

CHAIRPERSON