

Minutes of a hearing by the Policy & Regulatory Committee (2019 Amendments to 2011 Speed Limit Bylaw held in the Council Chambers, District Office, 15 Galileo Street, Ngaruawahia on **MONDAY**, **3 FEBRUARY 2020** commencing at **1.00pm**

Present:

Cr JD Sedgwick (Chairperson)

His Worship the Mayor, Mr AM Sanson

Cr AD Bech

Cr CA Eyre

Cr JM Gibb

Cr SL Henderson

Cr SD Lynch

Cr RC McGuire

Cr FM McInally

Cr EM Patterson

Cr NMD Smith

Cr LR Thomson

Cr CT Woolerton

Attending:

Mr R MacCulloch (General Manager Service Delivery)

Mr G Bellamy (Senior Transportation Engineer)

Ms Jodi Bell-Wymer

Ms S Solomon

Mr | Brown

Mrs LM Wainwright (Committee Secretary)

Ms Crouch & Mr McLennan on behalf of Whatawhata Residents and Ratepayers Association (Submission 65)

Mr Arnold (Submission 67)

Mr Newton (Submission 68)

Mr Griffiths (Submission 70)

Mr Lawson on behalf of Whaingaroa Environmental Defence (Submission 66)

Ms Geisssen-Prinz (Submission 78)

Ms Denton, Hamilton City Council (Submission 64)

Cr David McPherson, Hamilton City Council (Submission 64)

APOLOGIES AND LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Resolved: (Crs Gibb/Thomson)

THAT an apology be received from Cr Church.

CARRIED P&R2002/08

CONFIRMATION OF STATUS OF AGENDA ITEMS

Resolved: (Crs Patterson/Gibb)

THAT the agenda for a hearing of the Policy & Regulatory Committee held on Monday, 3 February 2020 be confirmed and all items therein be considered in open meeting.

CARRIED P&R2002/09

DISCLOSURES OF INTEREST

There were no disclosures of interest.

REPORTS

Recommended 2019 Amendments to 2011 Speed Limit Bylaw Hearing Agenda Item 4.1

The report was received [P&R20*/02 refers] and the Senior Transportation Engineer summarised the report.

HEARING OF SUBMISSIONS

The following submitters presented their submissions:

Name of Submitter	Title of Submission	Submitter No.
Alan Arnold	40kmph speed limit in Tuakau	67
Davina Crouch and Glenn McLennan on behalf of Whatawhata Residents and Ratepayers Association	Supporting speed limits proposed in the Whatawhata area	65
Tim Newton	Supporting the change in speed limits	68
John Lawson	Whaingaroa Environmental Defence	66
Steve Griffiths	Supporting a speed reduction in Rotokauri (powerpoint presentation)	70

The meeting adjourned at 2.06pm and resumed at 2.38pm.

Minutes: 3 February 2020

Cr McInally retired from the meeting at 2.38pm.

Name of Submitter	Title of Submission	Submitter No.
Susanne Giessen-Prinz	Supporting a speed reduction in Raglan	78
Robyn Denton on behalf of Hamilton City Council	Supporting the speed reductions	64

The meeting adjourned at 2.58pm and resumed at 3.05pm.

His Worship the Mayor re-entered the meeting at 3.11pm during discussion on the above item and was present when voting took place.

Cr Bech re-entered the meeting at 3.12pm during discussion on the above item and was present when voting took place.

Cr Gibb re-entered the meeting at 3.13pm during discussion on the above item and was present when voting took place.

Cr Lynch re-entered the meeting at 3.14pm during discussion on the above item and was present when voting took place.

Resolved: (Crs Smith/Henderson)

THAT the report of the General Manager Service Delivery be received;

AND THAT pursuant to sections 83 and 150 of the Local Government Act 2002, the Committee consider and, where requested, hear submissions on the notified Proposed 2019 Amendments to the Waikato District Council Speed Limit Bylaw 2011;

AND FURTHER THAT subject to any amendments, the proposed bylaw will be considered by the Committee at its meeting on 16 March 2020 with a view to recommending the 2019 Amendments to the Waikato District Council Speed Limit Bylaw 2011 for adoption at the Council meeting on 6 April 2020;

AND FURTHER THAT the Policy & Regulatory Committee directs staff to undertake additional targeted consultation with the residents on Rotokauri Road to Lindsay Road and Duck Road from Rotokauri Road/Laxon Road intersection to Dromara Road to reduce the current proposed speed limit of 80 kmph down to 60 kmph to align with NZTA requirements and to meet the residents desire to have a reduced speed limit.

CARRIED P&R2002/10

There being no further business, the hearing was closed at 3.35pm.

Minutes approved and confirmed this

day of

2020.

JD Sedgwick

CHAIRPERSON