

Minutes for a hearing by the Policy & Regulatory Committee (to hear and consider submissions and make recommendations on the Proposed Waikato District Council Stormwater Bylaw and Water Supply Bylaw) held in the Council Chambers, District Office, 15 Galileo Street, Ngaruawahia on **WEDNESDAY 11 AUGUST 2021** commencing at **9.35am**.

Present:

Cr JD Sedgwick (Chairperson)

His Worship the Mayor, Mr AM Sanson [until 11.06am and from 11.31am]

Cr AD Bech

Cr JA Church

Cr SL Henderson

Cr RC McGuire

Cr EM Patterson

Cr NMD Smith [until 10.38am and from 11.47am]

Cr LR Thomson

Cr CT Woolerton

Attending:

Mrs G Wilcock (Submitter)

Mr Webb on behalf of Webb Trustees Ltd (Submitter)

Mr M Telfer (Watercare)

Ms J Wara (Watercare)

Mr A Boldero (Watercare)

Mr R MacCulloch (General Manager Service Delivery)

Mr V Ramduny (Acting General Manager Community Growth)

Ms J Bell-Wymer (Corporate Planner)

Ms M Russo (Team Leader Planning & Policy)

Ms K Ridling (Senior Solicitor RMA)

Mrs C Nutt (Waters Contract Relationship Manager)

Ms Z Al-Khaleefa (Three Waters Contract Engineer)

Mrs LM Wainwright (Democracy Advisor)

APOLOGIES AND LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Resolved: (Crs Church/Thomson)

THAT the apologies from Cr Eyre, Cr Gibb and Cr Lynch be received.

CARRIED P&RH2108/01

Ī

CONFIRMATION OF STATUS OF AGENDA ITEMS

Resolved: (Crs Woolerton/Smith)

THAT the agenda for a hearing of the Policy & Regulatory Committee held on Wednesday, II August 2021 be confirmed and all items therein be considered in open meeting.

CARRIED P&RH2108/02

DISCLOSURES OF INTEREST

There were no disclosures of interest.

HEARING OF SUBMISSIONS

Hearing Report for the Proposed Stormwater Bylaw 2021 Agenda Item 4.1

The following submissions were presented, and submitters responded to questions from the Committee:

Mrs Wilcock (Submission 1875)

Stormwater Bylaw

Clear definition is required on:

- stormwater runoff within urban and rural areas.
- controlled and uncontrolled water courses, and
- the difference between 'on demand' and 'supply' in rural areas and those that use Hamilton City's trickle feed system.

Note: Reference to controlled and uncontrolled water courses is required in the bylaw.

Mrs Wilcock (Submission 1882)

Water Supply Bylaw

Mrs Wilcock presented her submission and noted the following:

- recommended that staff advise where responses to submissions were located on the website.
- clarity was needed on the definition of overland flow paths and watercourses.
- points were discussed on stormwater in rural zones.

Clear definition is required on:

urban vs rural water supply,

supply types and usage of the supply, and

requirements for the end user.

Mr Webb on behalf of Webb Trustees Ltd (Submission 1851)

Water Supply Bylaw

Mr Webb supported changes to clause 9.6.1 to enable Council to install water meters, at the customers' cost, where a premise is supplied with an on-demand supply and not metered. He supported the proposal to install a water meter for each dwelling on a subdivided property.

Note: This is currently not Council's policy.

Mr Telfer (Watercare) and the Waters Contract Relationship Manager clarified Auckland Council's and Waipa District Council's Water Supply process. The Hearing Panel were comfortable with the following discretionary paragraph being inserted into the Water Supply Bylaw:

"For each individual customer, there shall only be one (1) point of supply, unless otherwise approved in writing by Council."

Watercare confirmed support of this discretionary paragraph. A policy document could then be developed, and consultation carried out.

Cr Smith left the meeting at 10.38am during discussions and re-entered the meeting at 10.47am.

3

His Worship the Mayor left the meeting at 11.06am.

The meeting adjourned at 11.06am and resumed at 11.26am.

DELIBERATIONS

After hearing the submissions, the Hearings Panel discussed the following matters:

Submission No.	Point No.	Comment
1876 – NZ Fire & Emergency	I - Compliance with other	Accepted
	codes	
	2 – Extraordinary Use	Accepted
		Note: Extraordinary use does
		not cover swimming pools
	Point 3 – Fire Hydrants	Amendment accepted
	Point 4 – On Demand Supply	Accepted
		Note: Grammatical error
	Point 5 – Restricted Flow Supply	Agreed not to increase the storage requirement from 22m³ to 45m³ as requested by FENZ
	Point 6 - Protection Connection and Connection Application	Accepted
	Point 7 – Fire Protection Connection Metering	Accepted
1875 – Grace (Maggie) Wilcock		Staff responses accepted
1874 – Hamilton City Council	Points 4.1 to 4.4	Staff responses accepted
1853 – Sanderson Group Ltd	Points I & 2	Staff responses accepted
1850 – Greg McCutchan		Staff responses accepted

His Worship the Mayor re-entered the meeting at 11.31am.

Resolved: (His Worship the Mayor/Cr Patterson)

THAT pursuant to section 83 of the Local Government Act 2002, the Policy & Regulatory Committee consider all submissions and, where requested, hear submissions on the notified Proposed Waikato District Council Stormwater Bylaw 2021:

AND THAT subject to any amendments, the proposed Bylaw be considered by the Policy and Regulatory Committee at its meeting on Wednesday, I September 2021 with a view to recommending the Proposed Waikato District Council Stormwater Bylaw 2021 for adoption at the Council meeting on Monday, 20 September 2021.

CARRIED P&RH2108/03

Resolved: (His Worship the Mayor/Cr McGuire)

THAT pursuant to section 83 of the Local Government Act 2002, the Committee consider all submissions and, where requested, hear submissions on the notified Proposed amendments to the Waikato District Council Water Supply Bylaw 2014 and Water Leak Relief Policy 2021;

AND THAT subject to any amendments, the proposed Bylaw will be considered by the Policy and Regulatory Committee at its meeting on Wednesday, I September 2021 with a view to recommending the Proposed Waikato District Council Water Supply Bylaw 2014 and Water Leak Relief Policy 2021 for adoption at the Council meeting on Monday, 20 September 2021.

CARRIED		P&RH2108/04
There being no further business the meeting	was declared closed at 12.	27pm.
Minutes approved and confirmed this	day of	2021.

5

JD Sedgwick

CHAIRPERSON