

Minutes of a meeting of the Waikato District Council held in the Council Chambers, District Office, 15 Galileo Street, Ngaruawahia on **THURSDAY, 20 OCTOBER 2022** commencing at **6.00pm**.

Present:

Her Worship the Mayor, Mrs JA Church (Chairperson)

Cr C Beavis

Cr CA Eyre

Cr JM Gibb

Cr M Keir

Cr P Matatahi-Poutapu

Cr K Ngataki

Cr EM Patterson

Cr M Raumati

Cr V Reeve

Cr LR Thomson

Cr P Thomson

Cr T Turner

Cr D Whyte

Attending:

Invited Guests

Mr GJ Ion (Chief Executive)

Mr TG Whittaker (Chief Operating Officer)

Mr C Morgan (General Manager Community Growth)

Mr S Toka (Pouhono Iwi ki te Haapori / Iwi and Community Partnership Manager)

Ms K Rhind (Senior Community Engagement Manager)

Mrs GJ Kanawa (Democracy Manager)

The Mayor-elect and Councillors-elect were welcomed into the Council Chamber by a karanga from Ms K Rhind (Senior Community Engagement Advisor), followed by a Mihi Whakatau from Mr S Toka (Iwi and Community Partnerships Manager) and the Council waiata.

Mr H Raumati, Mr Hone Turner and Archdeacon N Simmonds responded on behalf of the Councillors-elect and their guests.

The Chief Executive opened the meeting in accordance with clause 21, Schedule 7 of the Local Government Act 2002, and welcomed the elected members, Waikato-Tainui representatives, other guests and staff.

The Chief Executive chaired the meeting until the completion of the declarations.

Waikato District Council I Minutes: 20 October 2022

DECLARATION BY HER WORSHIP THE MAYOR JACQUI CHURCH

His Worship the Mayor read and signed the declaration required under clause 14, Schedule 7 of the Local Government Act 2002, in the presence of the Chief Executive.

The Chief Executive presented Her Worship the Mayor with the mayoral chains for the Waikato District.

DECLARATION BY COUNCILLORS

Each Councillor present read and signed the declaration required under clause 14, Schedule 7 of the Local Government Act 2002, in the presence of His Worship the Mayor.

APOLOGIES

There were no apologies and all members were present.

DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no disclosures of interest.

APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY MAYOR

Agenda Item 4

Resolved: (Her Worship the Mayor, Mrs JA Church/Cr Ngataki)

THAT Council notes Her Worship the Mayor has appointed Councillor Eyre as Waikato District Council's Deputy Mayor for the 2022-2025 triennium, in accordance with section 41A (3)(a) of the Local Government Act 2002.

CARRIED WDC2210/07

Minutes: 20 October 2022

APPOINTMENT OF COUNCILLORS TO COMMUNITY BOARDS

Agenda Item 5

Resolved: (Her Worship the Mayor, Mrs JA Church/Cr Patterson)

THAT the Waikato District Council, pursuant to section 50 (b) of the Local Government Act 2002 and section 19(f) of the Local Electoral Act 2001 makes the following appointments to Community Boards for the 2022-2025 triennium:

- a. Tuakau Community Board:
 - i. Councillor Paaniora Matatahi-Poutapu from the Tai Raro Takiwaa Maaori Ward; and
 - ii. Councillor Vern Reeve from the Tuakau-Pokeno General Ward.
- b. Rural-Port Waikato Community Board:
 - i. Councillor Paaniora Matatahi-Poutapu from the Tai Raro Takiwaa Maaori Ward; and
 - ii. Councillor Carolyn Eyre from the Western Districts General Ward.
- c. Huntly Community Board:
 - i. Councillor Paaniora Matatahi-Poutapu from the Tai Raro Takiwaa Maaori Ward; and
 - ii. Councillor David Whyte from the Huntly General Ward.
- d. Taupiri Community Board:
 - i. Councillor Tilly Turner from the Tai Runga Takiwaa Maaori Ward; and
 - ii. Councillor Janet Gibb from the Newcastle-Ngaruawahia General Ward.
- e. Ngaruawahia Community Board:
 - i. Councillor Tilly Turner from the Tai Runga Takiwaa Maaori Ward; and
 - Councillor Eugene Patterson from the Newcastle-Ngaruawahia General Ward.
- f. Raglan Community Board:
 - Councillor Tilly Turner from the Tai Runga Takiwaa Maaori Ward; and
 - ii. Councillor Lisa Thomson from the Whaingaroa General Ward.

CARRIED WDC2210/08

Minutes: 20 October 2022

EXPLANATION OF STATUTORY MATTERS AFFECTING ELECTED MEMBERS

Agenda Item 6

The Legal Counsel, Mrs C Pidduck introduced the report and provided an overview of the statutory matters affecting elected members.

Resolved: (Her Worship the Mayor, Mrs JA Church/Cr Whyte)

THAT the Waikato District Council acknowledges the legislation affecting elected members and notes the requirement to advise the Chief Executive of any interests or issues arising from the relevant legislation.

CARRIED WDC2210/09

COUNCIL MEETING SCHEDULE FOR 2022

Agenda Item 7

The Chief Executive spoke to the report, following which there were no questions.

Resolved: (Crs Eyre/Beavis)

THAT the Waikato District Council:

- a. approves the following Council meeting dates and times for the balance ofthe 2022 year:
 - i. Wednesday, 9 November 2022 commencing at 9:30am; and
 - ii. Monday, 12 December 2022 commencing at 9.30am; and
- b. notes that a schedule of meetings for 2023 will be presented for approval atthe meeting on Monday, 12 December 2022.

CARRIED WDC2210/10

There being no further business the meeting was declared closed at 7.10pm.

Minutes approved and confirmed this 9th day of November 2022.

JA Church
CHAIRPERSON

Minutes: 20 October 2022