

Te Kauwhata Community Committee Charter

Policy Owner: Chief Executive

Approved By: Waikato District Council

Resolution Number: WDC1310/23
Effective Date: October 2013
Next Review Date: October 2016

The Waikato District Council has adopted the Te Kauwhata Community Committee Charter as shown below:

I Purpose

The Te Kauwhata Community Committee is set up by the Waikato District Council to deal with local issues on behalf of the Council in the township of Te Kauwhata.

2 Roles and Delegations

The role of the Te Kauwhata Community Committee shall be as follows:

- (a) To consider and report on all matters referred to it by the Waikato District Council or any matter of interest or concern to the Te Kauwhata Community Committee.
- (b) The overview of road works, water supply, sewerage, stormwater drainage, parks, recreational facilities, community activities and traffic management within the township of Te Kauwhata.
- (c) To prepare an annual submission to the budgetary process of the Waikato District Council for expenditure within the township of Te Kauwhata.
- (d) To communicate with community organisations and special interest groups within the township of Te Kauwhata.
- (f) Any other function and duties as may be delegated from time to time to the Te Kauwhata Community Committee by the Waikato District Council.
- (g) Any delegation of authority given to the Te Kauwhata Community Committee by the Waikato District Council can be withdrawn by resolution of the Council at any time, without reference to the Community Committee.
- (h) Any sub-delegation of these responsibilities, duties and powers by Community Committee is hereby expressly prohibited pursuant to Clause 32 (3) of Schedule 7 of the Local Government Act 2002.

3 Membership

- (a) The Te Kauwhata Community Committee shall consist of no fewer than three elected members nor more than twelve elected members plus an appointed member from the Waikato District Council.
- (b) The appointed member should be, in the first instance, the Councillor elected to the Whangamarino Ward or such other person that the Council may from time to time appoint.

4 Elections

- (a) The elected members shall be elected on a three-yearly cycle. The elections shall be held by public meeting conducted by the Chief Executive of the Waikato District Council or his/her nominee. The three-yearly election meeting shall be conducted in a manner deemed appropriate by the Chief Executive.
- (b) Any vacancies occurring during the three-year term shall be filled as deemed appropriate by the Council. The Community Committee may co-opt members to assist the Committee as required as long as the number of members does not exceed the maximum specified in paragraph 3(a).

5 Chairperson

- (a) The Te Kauwhata Community Committee shall appoint a Chairperson from within its membership.
- (b) The Te Kauwhata Community Committee shall appoint a Deputy Chairperson within its membership.

6 Remuneration

- (a) Remuneration to individual members shall be allocated at the discretion of the Te Kauwhata Community Committee, within the amount provided on an annual basis by the Waikato District Council.
- (b) Any remuneration provision provided by the Waikato District Council but not allocated may be used for other projects within the Te Kauwhata community at the discretion of the Te Kauwhata Community Committee.

7 Meeting Procedures

- (a) The Te Kauwhata Community Committee shall follow the general principles of the New Zealand Standards (NZS 9202:2003) Model Standing Orders for Meetings of Local Authorities and other public bodies including Amendment No I.
- (b) Any variance to the Standing Orders can be decided by simple majority vote of those present at a meeting.

(c) A quorum of members of the Community Committee shall consist of not less than two members.

8 Abolition of Community Committee

The Te Kauwhata Community Committee may be abolished by resolution of the Waikato District Council after consultation with or request from the Te Kauwhata Community Committee.