Ngaa Pootitanga


Voting is not just a right, it’s an opportunity to have your say on what’s important to you, your whanau and your community. In October 2016 you had your say on who represents your community and the Waikato district for the next three years.

  • Waikato District Mayor (the Mayor is elected on a district-wide vote)
  • Waikato District Councillors (13 Councillors are elected to represent 10 Wards, or areas, in our District)
  • Community Board members (Community Boards in Huntly, Ngaruawahia, Onewhero-Tuakau, Taupiri and Raglan look after local interests and provide a link between the community and the Council)

In addition to voting for a Mayor, Councillors and Community Board members, Waikato District electors also voted for:

  • Waikato Regional Council members
  • Waikato District Health Board members
  • Counties Manukau District Health Board members
  • Te Kauwhata Licensing Trust members


Final results for the 2016 election and voting returns are now available at www.votewaikato.co.nz/results 

2016 candidates and electoral donations and expenses returns are available at www.votewaikato.co.nz/candidates 

For more information about the 2016 elections go to www.votewaikato.co.nz