Skip to content


Candidate nominations for Waikato District Council closed on Friday 12 August, with 67 candidates putting their hands up to represent the district for the upcoming triennium.


Four nominations were received for the position of Mayor, while 29 nominations were received for Councillor positions across the district, and 38 for community boards.


The only uncontested locations in the Waikato district were the Western Districts General Ward, the Taupiri Community Board and both the North and South subdivisions for the Rural-Port Waikato Community Board.


Please see a list of candidates below. All candidates are listed in the order in which they were received.

Note: More information about each candidate will be loaded soon.

To find out more about the number of elected members per position or board or to find out what ward you fall under check out the information below.

Mayor (one vacancy)

Aksel Bech
Jacqui Church
Korikori Hawkins
Ra Puriri


Awaroa-Maramarua General Ward (one vacancy)

Stephanie Henderson
Peter Thomson
Greg Cowie
Albert Alferink

Huntly General Ward (one vacancy)

Shelley Lynch
Frank McInally
David Whyte
Jasdeepak Sandhu

Newcastle-Ngāruawāhia General Ward (two vacancies)

Janet Gibb
Eugene Patterson
James Whetu

Tamahere-Woodlands General Ward (two vacancies)

Crystal Beavis
Mike Keir
Chris Woolerton
Luke Furborough

Tai Raro Takiwaa Maaori Ward (one vacancy)

Kawekura Nikora
Tutata Matatahi-Poutapu

Tai Runga Takiwaa Maaori Ward (one vacancy)

Korikori Hawkins
Tilly Turner
Sharnay Ormsby Cocup-Hughes

Tuakau-Pōkeno General Ward (two vacancies)

Jacqui Church
Kandi Ngataki
Doris Tapine
Vern Reeve

Waerenga-Whitikahu General Ward (one vacancy)

Marlene Raumati
Tremayne Thompson

Western Districts General Ward (one vacancy)

Carolyn Eyre

Whāingaroa General Ward (one vacancy)

Lisa Thomson
Ra Puriri

Community Board Members

Huntly Community Board (six vacancies) 

Greg McCutchan
Frank McInally
Kim Bredenbeck
David Whyte
Eden Wawatai
Jasdeepak Sandhu
Sheryl Matenga
Tracy Marunui
Pare Hetet
Koroki Te Wherowhero Waikai
Ravinder Singh

Ngāruawāhia Community Board (six vacancies)

Greg Wiechern
Dianne Firth
Venessa Rice
Jack Ayers
Kiri Morgan
Jamie Toko
Keryn Hooker

Rural-Port Waikato Community Board

North Subdivision (two vacancies)

Leah Fry
Rosemarie Costar

South Subdivision (two vacancies) 

Bruce Cameron
Felicity Coker-Grey

Raglan Community Board (six vacancies)

Tony Oosten
Dennis Amoore
Kiri Binnersley
Chris Rayner
Satnam Bains
Selena Coombes
Jason Marinovich
Michelle Levy
Ross Wallis

Taupiri Community Board (four vacancies) 

Dorothy Lovell
Howard Lovell
Jo Morley
Sharnay Ormsby Cocup-Hughes

Tuakau Community Board (six vacancies)

David Henderson
Vern Reeve
Grace Tema

Only three candidates put their names forward for six spaces on the Tuakau Community Board, which will prompt a by-election in early 2023.

Te Kauwhata Licensing Trust (six vacancies)

Ross Caird
Jo Mako
Mohan Singh
Gerald Jackson
Liam McBride
Jo Gurnell

Meet the Candidates

To ensure Council remains neutral throughout the elections, we will not run or endorse any candidate event. Meet the candidate events displayed on the website are held by community groups. Community groups holding an event are encouraged to get in touch with Council so these can be displayed on the website.