COVID-19 UPDATE Waikato District is in "ORANGE". For full info click here.
Skip to content

Heritage groups and contacts

The Tuakau railway station

Tuakau, Pokeno, Onewhero, Pukekawa & Districts

  • Franklin Heritage Forum 
    Meets last Wednesday of each month
    Contact: Christine Madsen 

  • Tuakau Museum 
    Meet as and when required

  • Port Waikato Residents & Ratepayers - Promoting History of the Port  
    Meets First Monday of each month
    Contact: John Carr 

Mangatangi, Maramarua, Mangatawhiri, Miranda & Districts

Mercer, Meremere & Districts

Huntly, Ohinewai, Glen Afton, Pukemiro, Rotowaro & Districts

  • Waikato Coalfields Museum
    Board meetings every 2nd Wednesday of the month at 5.15pm
    Contact: Museum Administrator – Phone (07) 828 8128 or

Te Kauwhata, Rangiriri, Waerenga & Districts

  • Rangiriri
    Rangiriri Heritage Café
    Contact: Christine Madsen

  • Te Kauwhata & Districts Historical Society
    Currently meets 3rd Sunday every 2nd month 
    Contacts: Bronwen Simmonds (Secretary)
    The Settlers Museum is open on the last Sunday of each month from 1pm to 4pm.
    Contact Pam Baird if you would like to visit outside of this time.
  • Waerenga Undenominational War Memorial Church
    Contact: Jenny Kelly

Ngaruawahia, Glen Massey, Gordonton, Taupiri, Hukanui, Horotiu & Districts

Whatawhata, Te Kowhai, Rotokauri & Districts

Raglan & Districts

  • Raglan District Museum
    Meets 1st Monday of every month
    Contact: Roger Gallagher (President)

Tamahere, Tauwhare, Matangi, Eureka, Newstead & Districts

  • Tamahere and Eureka Heritage Group 
    Meets every 3nd Wednesday of the month.
    Contact: Kitty Burton