Skip to content

Wahine in the Waikato - Jacqui Church confirmed as new Waikato District Council Mayor

Final election results released last night confirm that Jacqui Church has been elected as Mayor of the Waikato district.  

Church is the first female to be elected to this position in the Waikato district and says that she is honoured to continue to pave the way for women in local governance: “I am passionate about leading this Council and, having represented the Tuakau-Pōkeno Ward for the last nine years, have robust experience in the governance space and always act with the best interests of our entire district at heart.” 

Mayor Jacqui has also appointed her Deputy Mayor, Carolyn Eyre, who returns to Council for a second term in local governance. 

“I feel humbled and honoured to work alongside Mayor Jacqui as her deputy. I find her passion, enthusiasm and commitment for the district and its residents inspirational,” says Deputy Eyre. 

“As a Ward Councillor for a large rural ward, I believe the appointment indicates Mayor Jacqui’s intent to honour her commitment to strengthening the connection with our rural communities.”  

Nine new Councillors are set to serve on the wahine-led Council, including the districts first ever Maaori ward Councillors. 

“There has been a significant amount of change at the governance table, and I am looking forward to working with my team of councillors to deliver on our Council vision of Liveable, Thriving and Connected communities for the benefit of all those who call our district home.” adds Mayor Church. 

Those elected to the Waikato District Council have been confirmed as: 

Awaroa-Maramarua General Ward

  • Peter Thomson 

Huntly General Ward

  • David Whyte 

Newcastle-Ngāruawāhia General Ward 

  • Janet Gibb 

  • Eugene Patterson 

Tamahere-Woodlands General Ward 

  • Mike Keir 

  • Crystal Beavis 

Tuakau-Pōkeno General Ward 

  • Vern Reeve 

  • Kandi Ngataki 

Waerenga-Whitikahu General Ward 

  • Marlene Raumati 

Whāingaroa General Ward 

  • Lisa Thomson 

Tai Raro Takiwaa Maaori Ward 

  • Paaniora Matatahi-Poutapu 

Tai Runga Takiwaa Maaori Ward 

  • Tilly Turner 

Western Districts General Ward (elected unopposed) 

  • Carolyn Eyre 

Those elected to community boards across the district have been confirmed as: 

Huntly Community Board 

  • Kim Bredenbeck 

  • Eden Wawatai 

  • Jas Sandhu 

  • Sheryl Matenga 

  • Greg McCutchan 

  • Frank McInally 

Ngāruawāhia Community Board 

  • Kiri Morgan 

  • Greg Weichern 

  • Venessa Rice 

  • Dianne Firth 

  • Keryn Hooker 

  • Jack Ayers 

Raglan Community Board 

  • Ross Wallis 

  • Satnam Bains 

  • Kiri Binnersley 

  • Dennis Amoore 

  • Chris Rayner 

  • Tony Oosten 

Those elected unopposed to community boards were: 

Rural & Port Waikato Community Board (North Subdivision) 

  • Rosemarie Costar 

  • Leah Fry 

Rural & Port Waikato Community Board (South Subdivision) 

  • Bruce Cameron 

  • Flee Coker-Grey 

Taupiri Community Board 

  • Joanne Morley 

  • Dorothy Lovell 

  • Howard Lovell 

  • Sharnay Ormsby Cocup-Hughes 

A lack of candidates resulted in three initial vacancies for the Tuakau Community Board and, given Vern Reeve’s position as the Tuakau-Pōkeno General Ward Councillor, a further vacancy is required to fill the previously unopposed spot on the Tuakau Community Board. 

Those elected unopposed to the Tuakau Community Board are: 

Tuakau Community Board 

  • Grace Tema-Liapaneke 

  • David Henderson 

The by-election will take place early in 2023. 


For more information please contact: 

Emma Edgar  
Executive Manager - Communications & Engagement  
Waikato District Council 
022 1618775