Skip to content

New Council Sworn In for Waikato District

Waikato District Councillors and Mayor

Following elections earlier this month the new Waikato District Council was sworn in at a ceremony in Ngaruawahia last night.

Chief Executive, Gavin Ion, presided at a ceremony attended by family members to swear in re-elected mayor, Allan Sanson, and the 13 councillors who will represent the district’s 69,900 residents across 10 wards for the next three years. 

Seven councillors were re-elected and are joined on council by six new comers for the Awaroa ki Tuakau, Huntly, Ngaruawahia, Onewhero-Te Akau, Raglan and Tamahere wards. 

Dynes Fulton was last night also appointed Deputy Mayor for the triennium.

Councillors Clint Baddeley (Raglan), Rosemarie Costar (Onewhero-Tuakau), Wally Hayes (Tamahere), Lionel Petersen (Awaroa ki Tuakau), and Graham Tait (Huntly) all retired from council at the end of last term. 

The next Council meeting is at 1pm on Tuesday 1 November at Ngaruawahia.

The full list of Council members is:

Allan Sanson                 Waikato District Mayor

Dynes Fulton                Deputy Mayor and Councillor – Hukanui-Waerenga Ward

Aksel Bech                   Councillor – Tamahere Ward

Jacqui Church              Councillor – Awaroa ki Tuakau Ward

Janet Gibb                    Councillor – Ngaruawahia Ward

Stephanie Henderson   Councillor – Awaroa ki Tuakau Ward

Shelley Lynch               Councillor – Huntly Ward

Rob McGuire               Councillor – Eureka Ward

Frank McInally              Councillor – Huntly Ward

Bronwyn Main              Councillor – Onewhero-Te Akau Ward

Eugene Patterson         Councillor – Ngaruawahia Ward

Jan Sedgwick                 Councillor – Whangamarino Ward

Noel Smith                   Councillor – Newcastle Ward

Lisa Thomson               Councillor – Raglan Ward

PHOTO: Waikato District Councillors, from back left, Frank McInally, Lisa Thomson, Rob McGuire, Jacqui Church, Aksel Bech, Noel Smith, Bronwyn Main, Eugene Patterson, Shelley Lynch, Jan Sedgwick, Dynes Fulton, Mayor Allan Sanson, Janet Gibb and Stephanie Henderson.