Skip to content

Congratulations to our Matariki stars

The winners of the Waikato District Libraries Matariki competition were announced yesterday at a prize-giving held in the Council Chambers. 

In celebration of Matariki (Maaori New Year), people were asked to write a poem or design a bookmark. More than 600 entries were received across the district. 

Congratulations to Leila Steward, from Ngaruawahia, who was named the supreme winner. The other winners were Riley McLeod and Jasmine Dahm from Raglan, Reese Daniel-Hoani from Ngaruawahia, Trinity Whyte from Huntly and Lauren Hughes from Te Kauwhata. 

The awards were presented by Deputy Mayor Dynes Fulton. 

“This is the fourth year the competition has been held, and every year it has grown,” he said. “The competition celebrates Matariki as a special time of year and allows people to show their creativity. A big thank you to the 626 people that entered. We had some amazing entries. It’s great to see our communities celebrate Matariki with their local libraries.” 

The winning bookmarks have been printed and will be available at all our library sites. The winning poems will also be on display. 

The competition was judged by Tuakau author Janet Pates and Ngaruawahia artist Lianne Van Den Bemd. 

Each winner received a $60 gift voucher. The supreme winner was also awarded a voucher and a trophy.  

List of winners and runners up:

• Book mark 5-9 years
Winner: Riley McLeod, from Te Mata School, Raglan
Runner up: Tia Barker, Harrisville School, Tuakau

• Book mark 10-15 years
Winner: Reese Daniel-Hoani, Horotiu School, Ngaruawahia
Runner up: Santija Silich-Steed, Ngaruawahia High School, Ngaruawahia

• Book mark 16+ years
Winner: Jasmine Dahm, Raglan
Runner up: Heather Burke, Raglan

• Poem 5-9 years
Winner: Leila Steward, Ngaruawahia
Runner up: Nirvana Shaw, Mangatawhiri

• Poem 10-15 years
Winner: Trinity Whyte, Huntly
Runner up: Abby Cranfield, Waitetuna School, Raglan

• Poem 16+ years
Winner: Lauren Hughes, Te Kauwhata
Runner up: Julie Murphy, Pukekawa

• Supreme winner: Leila Steward
Note: Photographs are available upon request.