Skip to content

Anzac services to be held around the Waikato district

ANZAC services will be held in nine townships across Waikato district on 25 April this year.

Unfortunately the community-run services at Port Waikato and Pokeno have been cancelled due to police resourcing.

A Civic Service hosted by Mayor Allan Sanson will be held in the Ngaruawahia War Memorial Hall at 11am.  

Dawn services at 6am will be held at the Field of Remembrance in Ngaruawahia, at the Huntly Cenotaph, and at the Te Kauwhata Soldiers Memorial. Times and places for assembling for parades prior to these dawn services can be found on the Waikato District Council website (see below).

Other commemorative services will be held in:

• Gordonton, starting at the Gordonton Hall at 10am,

• Maramarua & Districts, assembling at the Red Fox car park at 8.45am to march to the War Memorial Monument, or in the Maramarua Hall if wet, for a service at 9am,

• Raglan, at the Raglan Cenotaph at 11am,

• Huntly, march from Huntly RSA on William St to the Cenotaph, 9am,

• Taupiri, assembling opposite Bob Byrne Park gates on the school grounds on Great South Rd. March to War Memorial Hall in Greenlane Rd via Te Putu St for a service starting at 9am,

• Eureka, in the Eureka Town Hall, 11am,

• Te Kauwhata, assembling outside Auto Super Shoppe, Mahi Rd, at 10.30am to march to the Soldiers Memorial for a service at 11am, and

• Tuakau, in the Tuakau Memorial Hall, 11am.

Although the Pokeno and Port Waikato services have been called off due to limited police resourcing, there is still the opportunity for these communities to pay their respects.

-          Pokeno Hall will be open at 9am with refreshments available if people want to lay wreaths at the Cenotaph

-          Port Waikato Fire Station will be open from 11am if people want to lay wreaths or have a cup of tea

More details with regards all these events can be found on the Waikato District Council website at


For more information please contact:
Teresa Hancock
Communications Advisor, Waikato District Council
027 706 5776