Skip to content

Waikato district final election results announced

Final election results released last night confirm Allan Sanson has been re-elected for a fourth term as Waikato District Council mayor.

Those confirmed as being elected to the Waikato District Council are:

Awaroa ki Tuakau Ward
Jacqui Church
Stephanie Henderson

Hukanui-Waerenga Ward

Chris Woolerton*

Onewhero-Te Akau Ward

Carolyn Eyre*

Huntly Ward
Shelley Lynch

Frank McInally

Newcastle Ward

Noel Smith

Raglan Ward

Lisa Thomson

Eureka Ward

Rob McGuire

Ngaruawahia Ward
Janet Gibb

Eugene Patterson

Jan Sedgwick (Whangamarino) and Aksel Bech (Tamahere) were both elected unopposed.

*indicates a new candidate elected to Waikato District Council.

Final results have also been released for the Community Boards as follows:

Huntly Community Board

Red Wootton

Kim Bredenbeck

Eden Wawatai

Rewi Cork

David Whyte

Greg McCutchan

Onewhero-Tuakau Community Board

Shaun Jackson

Caroline Conroy

Bronwyn Watson

Jonathan Lovatt

Vern Reeve

Kandi Ngataki

Raglan Community Board

Satnam Bains

Gabrielle Parson

Bob MacLeod

Tony Oosten

Chris Rayner

Dennis Amoore

Taupiri Community Board

Howard Lovell

Dorothy Lovell

Rudy Van Dam

Sharnay Cocup

Jacqueline Henry

Jo Morley*

*As Jo Morley and Anne Richmond achieved an equal number of votes in sixth place (43 votes), under regulation 58(5) of the Local Electoral Regulations 2001, the electoral officer is required to determine by lot which candidate is to be declared elected. Both candidate names were placed in a hat and Jo Morley’s name was drawn out.

Ngaruawahia Community Board*

Jack Ayers

Dianne Firth

Rongo Kirkwood

Kiri Morgan

Venessa Rice

Greg Wiechern

*All members were elected unopposed

Full results can also be found at

Waikato District Council Chief Executive Gavin Ion says he is looking forward to working with the newly elected Council and Community Boards as Council looks to grow liveable, thriving and connected communities.

The first full Council meeting of the triennium will take place at 1pm on Tuesday, 12 November.


For more information please contact:
Teresa Hancock
Senior Communications & Engagement Advisor
Waikato District Council
027 706 5776