ALERT We anticipate there may be slight delays in opening the Tamahere HUB over the next few days due to increase traffic while Fieldays takes place. If you have any urgent queries, please phone 0800 492 452
Skip to content

Waikato District Council Mayor and Councillors sworn in


Following elections earlier this month, the new Waikato District Council was sworn in at a ceremony in Ngaruawahia today.Chief Executive Gavin Ion presided at a ceremony attended by family members to swear in re-elected mayor, Allan Sanson, and the councillors who will represent the district across 10 wards for the next three years. Eleven councillors were re-elected and are joined on council by two new comers for the Hukanui-Waerenga and Onewhero-Te Akau wards. 

Aksel Bech was appointed Deputy Mayor for the triennium.

The next Council meeting is at 1pm on Tuesday 12 November at Ngaruawahia.

The full list of Council members is:

Allan Sanson                   Waikato District Mayor

Aksel Bech                       Deputy Mayor and Councillor – Tamahere Ward

Jacqui Church                 Councillor – Awaroa ki Tuakau Ward

Janet Gibb                       Councillor – Ngaruawahia Ward

Stephanie Henderson   Councillor – Awaroa ki Tuakau Ward

Shelley Lynch                  Councillor – Huntly Ward

Rob McGuire                   Councillor – Eureka Ward

Frank McInally                Councillor – Huntly Ward

Carolyn Eyre                   Councillor – Onewhero-Te Akau Ward

Eugene Patterson          Councillor – Ngaruawahia Ward

Jan Sedgwick                  Councillor – Whangamarino Ward

Noel Smith                     Councillor – Newcastle Ward

Lisa Thomson                Councillor – Raglan Ward

Chris Woolerton            Councillor – Hukanui-Waerenga Ward


PHOTO: Waikato District Councillors, from back left,

Askel Bech, Chris Woolerton, Jacqui Church, Noel Smith, Lisa Thomson, Rob McGuire, Carolyn Eyre, Janet Gibb, Mayor Allan Sanson, Jan Sedgwick, Eugene Patterson, Shelley Lynch and Stephanie Henderson. Councillor Frank McInally absent.