Skip to content


There are three small water schemes: Te Ākau, Port Waikato and Onewhero (as displayed below) under the ownership and management of Council.  All three schemes will not be compliant with the draft Drinking Water Standards for New Zealand (DWSNZ) being formalised by Taumata Arowai currently.  

All three schemes are closed schemes and do not allow additional connections.  Therefore, no capacity upgrades are planned now or in the future. 

All three schemes require upgrading to meet the DWSNZ or one of the Taumata Arowai “acceptable solutions”.

Investigations into the options to upgrade each of these schemes to meet DWSNZ is underway along with considerations to changeover to individual household level private water supply systems.


Te Ākau scheme

Te Ākau is a small village on the northern side of the Raglan Harbour (Whāingaroa), across from Raglan itself.  The water system supplies 26 properties.

Te Ākau bore is out of commission due to failure of the bore lining.  Treated water is currently transported from Raglan by tanker and delivered to the Te Ākau Reservoir for distribution to Te Ākau residents.  Options for relining or replacing  the bore are currently under review. 

We are in regular communication with the Horongarara Community Group (Te Akau South) and we plan to continue this engagement with the community and iwi/Hapū to investigate future treatment and supply options.