COVID-19 UPDATE We are working through how we can safely open our public facilities in Level 2. Please click here for full details.
Skip to content

Three Waters

Ngaa Wai e toru

Three waters banner

Watercare in Waikato 

Waikato District Council contracted the provision of three waters to Watercare Services Limited on October 1, 2019. Watercare Waikato is now responsible for the delivery of all drinking water, wastewater and stormwater services within the Waikato district while Waikato District Council retains ownership of all assets. An independent body, the Waters Governance Board is responsible for managing the performance for Waikato district’s water services.  

Find out about water supply, wastewater, how to apply for a connection, septic tanks, trade waste, stormwater and how to save water with the Smart Water Campaign. Our water-related activities also help to environmentally protect  water in the Waikato region.

Three Waters Reform Programme

In July 2020, the New Zealand Government launched the Three Waters Reform Programme – a three-year programme to reform the service delivery arrangements of drinking water, stormwater, and wastewater.

Key features of the current proposal by Government would see that water services are delivered by four entities across New Zealand. Until the final proposal has been confirmed, local authorities will remain responsible for these services.

To stay informed with the Three Waters Reform Programme refer to the Department of Internal Affairs website or the Three Waters website.

The Department of Internal Affairs (DIA) has developed an entity map, highlighting the boundaries of the proposed four entities. Waikato District would fall within 'Entity B'.                                                                                                   

Read our latest updates below.